4 Best Books for Anyone Working with a Virtual Team

Nate McCallister
3 min readOct 30, 2023

I am a huge fan of the nomadic lifestyle. I highly recommend that you leverage the amazing opportunities we have in the 21st century and build virtual teams, free of borders and physical limitations, to reach your goals 24/7.

If your business involves working with remote employees, you’ll want to check out these 4 books the next time you’re at Barnes and Noble (or wherever you shop).

Virtual Freedom: How to Work with Virtual Staff to Buy More Time, Become More Productive, and Build Your Dream Business by Chris C. Ducker

If you only read one of these books, make it this one. It will give you a rounded understanding of virtual outsourcing, the things you can and should outsource and the best ways to do them to keep your sanity.

My favorite takeaway from this book was the myth of the Super VA. Many people try to hire one person to do everything, and that just rarely works. I wish I had read this book before I found it out firsthand!

Remote: Office Not Required by Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson

This book is from the creators of BaseCamp. They also authored two of my most recommended books, Getting Real and ReWork.

“What you’ll find in Remote is profound advice from guys who’ve succeeded in the virtual workforce arena. This is a manifesto for discarding stifling location- and time-based organizational habits in favor of best work practices for our brave new virtual and global world. If your organization entrusts you with the responsibility to get things done, this is a must-read.” -David Allen

Four Hour Work Week: Escape the 9–5, Live Anywhere and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss

I’d venture to guess that at least 10% of my followers learned about the nomadic lifestyle from Tim Ferriss and this book.

I did.

Tim explains how to run a business without letting it consume your entire life. He encouraged the reader to enjoy mini-retirements and a more fulfilled life by delegating their work and creating systems that run with or without you.

This book is better suited for lifestyle entrepreneurs than big businesses, but many of the principles apply across the board.

Influencing Virtual Teams: 17 Tactics That Get Things Done with Your Remote Employees by Hassan Osman

The shortest of all the books on this list, at under 70 pages, is possibly the most actionable. This book will give you immediate ideas for getting more out of your virtual team.

Any books I missed? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Nate McCallister

I over analyze topics in the internet business, productivity, fitness, nutrition and self development space. I share my findings here 👍