Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

4 Blissfully Short Books That Will Make You More Productive

Nate McCallister

--

Oh, the bitter irony of wasting time reading long-winded books on productivity!

Like you (I’m assuming since you’re here on the blog), I am an avid reader and love the topic of optimizing productivity.

I wanted to share some of my favorite books on the subject that aren't overly wordy. These books will give you plenty of insights in a fraction of the time.

#1 What The Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast By Laura Vanderkam

Don't let the low average rating (4.0 stars out of 1,600 ratings) turn you off. The negative reviews are all because the book was so short but priced like a regular book.

I don’t pay for pages; I pay for value, and this book got me inspired.

This book is brief but inspiring. If you are not yet a morning person or are struggling to become one, What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast is a great, easy read.

This book is like a hypothetical alarm clock telling you it’s time to start making more out of your mornings.

Are you a night owl? That may be fine!

Still, you owe it to yourself to at least try out alternative patterns so you can find your optimal fit.

Remember, whatever your sleep/wake pattern is, it’s all about productivity and wellness. It isn’t a contest to see who can wake up at the most absurd times. It is about optimizing your life, however that may be.

#2 The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

What does tidying up have to do with business? Actually, a lot.

Check it out for yourself in this unique book by Marie Kondo.

At the time of this writing, this was the #2 most popular book on Amazon.com. Not in any particular category, just #2 overall!

Note: I apologize; this isn’t really as quick of a read as the others, but I really wanted to add it! It is an easy read, though.

#3 Mini Habits by Stephen Guise

This book will remind you that quality habits are the core of a quality life and that anyone can develop them if they care enough to do so.

This book shows that the habit development process can be painfully simplified and turned into a series of absurdly easy-to-accomplish bite-sized habits that you can then develop into larger, lasting ones.

This book helped me reassess how I viewed habit development (good and bad) and has truly changed my life for the better.

#4 Read This before Our Next Meeting : by Al Pittampalli

Meetings are so ironic.Their purpose is to improve business, returns, retention, etc. What do they do in the process? They consistently waste resources.

Meetings are important, but how you run them is just as important. This book explains why.

And yes, entrepreneurs have meetings too.

PS: I want you to read, but you need to know when you’re possibly reading too much (yes, it’s an actual problem).

PPS: Looking to get the “meat” out of longer books in 10–15 minutes? Check out a little program called Blinkist.

--

--

Nate McCallister

I over analyze topics in the internet business and self development space. I share my findings here so you can focus on growth. 👍